Reviews

8.2
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.5
Comfort
7.8
Property location
8.9
Facilities
7.5
Staff
8.8
Value
7.5

Reviews

    Christopher
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    6 June 2018
    Shower wasn’t great, but not really an issue.
    Amazing location, very peaceful and lots of space to relax. Food is also good, especially the fish. Loved that it was eco friendly.
    Remy
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    28 May 2018

    Great place to chill

    No sun means no energy but it’s not a big issue
    Everyone was friendly and it was a great place to relax. The food was good and the accommodations was comfy. Organising the plankton tour was really easy and was so much fun.
    Martha
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    17 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Cortney
    us

    Review score

    3.3
    7 May 2018

    Too overpriced for what you’re getting.

    I didn’t like the fact that it was COMPLETELY OVERPRICED for what they had to offer. They were charging $75,000 COP per night for a cabana in the down season. When every other hostel on the island, with way more facilities, was charging at least $25,000 COP less. And honestly, it was not even worth staying there even if it was $25,000 COP less. Also, online it said there would be WiFi, there was no such thing. If we needed internet the owners offered to let us use some of their data. Overall, I’m not trying to speak poorly of the hostel, I just think they are very untrue in their online description and charge way to much for what they have to offer.
    I liked the beach area.
    Agnieszka
    au

    Review score

    10
    2 May 2018

    Amazing

    Everything was great
    It was absolutely amazing! The room is basically on the beach, amazing snorkeling, good food and really friendly owners:) The place is a real paradise, I highly recommend it:)
    de

    Review score

    2.5
    10 April 2018

    Not recommendable and way too expensive for what you get

    It was really loud the whole time, either the neighbor cutting wood, the peacock shouting the whole day or / and really loud music during the day and night. There was hardly any silent moment to relax. Moreover, the WiFi didn’t work most of th time and one day there was even no water to buy. Also the service was not as we imagined, you need to wait really long for something to happen and it’s not what we expected for the rather high price. Additionally, after sunset there’s nothing to do. Although it had a mosquito net we had really a lot of bites as there are tiny mosquitos entering the net nevertheless and there are no real walls to protect the “room”. Moreover you need to know that this is not a sand beach but a stone beach, so better bring shoes if you want to bath. All in all, we wouldn’t recommend it.
    The seafood pasta is really good.
    Jessica
    be

    Review score

    6.2
    8 April 2018
    We did not mind that it was basic but there were too many basic things missing, like toilet paper at the end of the day in the common bathroom and water to wash your hands (as it is collected from the rain and they had to make it available for you). I also found the other services quite expensive, like food, the lagoon (nothing special) and snorkeling.
    Amazing location just on the sea
    ca

    Review score

    10
    6 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Steve
    co

    Review score

    10
    12 March 2018
    it was awesome
    Amber
    nl

    Review score

    6.2
    6 March 2018

    Basic, but alright

    The guy who organizes the tours was not helpful at all. He didn’t want to give us any information (for example where the town is) if we didn’t use his services as a guide - and his tours were shockingly expensive, especially because you will still have to walk anywhere yourself. And when we didn’t want to go on a tour with him he seemed angry about it. Very unpleasant person.. the lady who runs the place is lovely, though!!
    Don’t expect any luxury, it’s a very basic place, but anything on the Rosario Islands is expensive, so this is a good option. The place is right on the coast, snorkels and masks are free, so you can just hop in the water to explore. Beds were comfy and rooms were clean.
    Peter
    gb

    Review score

    3.8
    6 March 2018

    Disappointing and not worth the cost - 40 pounds is a lot for this as it is.

    We expected basic, but this was beyond that. It was shabby, dirty, uncomfortable and staff were poor. For example, the beer in the fridge had uncovered raw fish on top of it. A shame, with a little effort this could be a rustic hideaway with a nice jetty and swimming area.
    With a little effort it could be nice for the price. Jetty and snorkelling was ok.
    Nicole
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    3 March 2018

    Island life was easy here

    Perfect for an island get away. Everything you need is all in one place - food, drinks, sun, sand and snorkeling gear! Phillipe and the staff were fantastic! The tour to see the glow bugs was awesome - a must do.
    Joana Zeballos
    bo

    Review score

    8.8
    20 February 2018

    Friendly staff increíble place

    Food too expensive
    Private beach, beautiful snorkeling, All the staff was great
    Manon
    cl

    Review score

    5.8
    12 June 2018

    Camping with a bed

    It's nice for 1 night but absolutely not more. Rooms are open, with see-through windows etc., so not much privacy + that also resulted in 88 mosquito bites. Maybe if our mosquito net didn't have a whole it would be less. 'Showering' is with a bucket and water from the lake (I guess?), since there where little worms swimming inside...The nearest beach is 30-40 minutes walking.
    It is what you expect from a eco-hotel; completely into nature, but then with a bed. Nice they do everything sustainable. The staff is very relaxed and can always help you.
    Luke Fleming
    au

    Review score

    10
    27 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Cristina
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    30 April 2018

    We had such a great time! Thanks for all the wonderful memories!

    My only caution - beware of Erizo (sea urchins) - be sure to pack water shoes if you plan to spend time on the old reef just out from the beach or be careful where you step! Also a good idea to bring bug spray. The island can be tricky to navigate and private property on the island is heavily lined with barbed wire so be careful which paths you take. If it doesn't look like a public path - it's not. In spite of that, we really enjoyed exploring on foot. There is no place to lock valuables so leave anything of value at home.
    If you are looking for a resort with all the fixing look elsewhere. But if you are looking to get a lot of bang for your buck, enjoy a tropical Island and experience the ocean in a very intimate setting, this place is paradise. The Island reminded me of memorable childhood movies and tv - Swiss Family Robinson and Gilligan's Island. I highly recommend taking the canoe trip to the luminescent lagoon. The pueblo is interesting and we could here the dance music at night, would definitely enjoy exploring more and everyone seemed very friendly. The food was delicious. The water was perfect. The other guests were very friendly and the international vibe was great!
    Victoria
    ch

    Review score

    9.2
    28 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Michelle
    us

    Review score

    10
    28 March 2018

    If you care about other cultures or the environment go to Ecohotel Hamaquero.

    This was an awesome experience unlike anything I've ever done.
    Alese
    us

    Review score

    10
    25 March 2018

    Didn’t want to leave my special place in the sun with the fishes and my new friends

    Wonderful hosts, such a special place
    Chenru
    us

    Review score

    8.8
    2 March 2018

    I cherish the amazing experience of living on the island

    For this price, almost nothing - just be aware that the power is only for the lights and fans. Cell phones can't be charged there.
    The food was awesome, especially the fried fish, which is amazingly fresh.
Loading reviews